ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life 2014 – Title and Week One

1 Comment

I actually completed week one before I even thought about the title page. Originally I was thinking bright colors since I’m using a combination of Honey/Blush and a couple of Amy Tangerine lines (cutting up 6×6 pads), but ended up sticking with mostly neutral colors with pops of red. I knew I wanted to use the “this is a story about” card and the “and then” card. The bottom left 4×6 section is what took the longest – I knew I wanted to use that gold card from one of the SC kits, but went thru several different ideas about what to put next to it. The “2014” was the second thing I cut out with my new Cameo! The photos are the same ones I used for the end of my 2013 album. If you haven’t read it, check out this post where I fast forwarded thru the end of my 2013 album.

IMG_0723

 

A day or so after taking the photo, I went back and stamped on the “2014” card – it was actually a stamp from the January 2013 SC kit, but the sentiment still works:

IMG_0748

IMG_0749

 

And now for week one:

IMG_0733

 

 

left side

left side

 

right side

right side

By the way, I want to apologize for the slightly wonky cards/photos. I read somewhere (forgot where exactly) about the best way to photograph your PL layouts is to actually take everything out of the pockets and lay it on top. I thought I’d try that, but  I kept bumping it – hence the wonkiness.

The last few years I’ve use Thickers to spell out the week number on my weekly card, but now that I have the Cameo, I’m going to use that. I ordered the Honey paper pack with a coupon from HSN a few weeks ago, so I used that to cut out “week 1″.

IMG_0736

 

I had recently finished our 2012 family album (I’m consistantly about a calendar year behind on my “regular” layouts). I was waiting on my husband to finish journaling on a layout and he finally handed it to me, so on January 1st my family got to sit down and look thru the complete albums (2 for the year).  I like watching their reactions and seeing the range of emotions depending on the layout subject. We recently watched a movie where one of the characters was looking thru an old photo album/scrapbook at pictures of a dead relative when my husband turned to me and said, “I’m glad your scrapbooks are more detailed than that.” That made me so happy that he appreciates what I do and why.

Monkey’s birthday is January 4th, so we did some celebrating over the weekend. The girls made him cards and artwork – if you read my journaling, you’ll see that the girls made stuff for me, too since they didn’t on my birthday (which was in December). I love the sign they made us – they worked together (which is a feat in and of itself) and used photos I had recently given my youngest for her photo wall.

IMG_0744

 

We went out to dinner to his favorite place on that Saturday. I actually put out the effort to straighten my hair (which I rarely do) and really took the time to do my makeup, so I wanted to make sure we got a good photo to document that (ha!). We asked Natalie to take the picture and it took like 10 minutes of trying to get a good angle/no blurriness. We laughed at how much work it took to get one photo, which is something I should know since I photograph kids on a regular basis.

IMG_0745

 

That about wraps up the first week of our year. One of my goals this year is to keep more up to date throughout the whole year … okay, I guess pretty much anyone that does PL has the same goal. My way of going about it is what I am changing for this year. I believe The Mom Creative will be starting back up with her Project Life Tuesday this week, so I will be linking up. I would love to hear any comments you have! Thanks for reading.

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

One thought on “Project Life 2014 – Title and Week One

  1. yor week one is lovely. I love the pops of pink and your pictures are sweet!

What's on your mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers