ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

a little dirt never hurt

Leave a comment

So this is my first attempt at attaching a photo of a layout.  I had read somewhere that in order to get great photos of your layouts you should tape them to a wall at eye height in front of you where there is natural light.  I tried it by our front door right before my girls got home from school.  I either need more practice or should just stick to my old method.

My youngest (Sydney) is a big “tomboy”.  When I got Echo Park’s Little Boy kit, I saw this sticker that says “A Little Dirt Never Hurt” and thought it was made for her.  Soon after we were working in the back yard and she stopped helping plant and started just playing in the dirt.  So of course I had to go grab the camera, I mean, who would pass up this perfect scrap moment?

I also put together a simple layout, just putting an 8×12 print on solid cardstock and then using an Ali Edwards stamp.  I took this photo Thanksgiving weekend when we were out at my in-laws visiting my (out of town) brother-in-law and his little family.  We lost our first fur baby in August of 2010 and it was the first loss either of our girls ever experienced.  My older daughter avoids Chewie’s grave while our younger daughter likes to go out and talk to him.  I never really know  how to record death/loss in our family scrapbooks, but I really wanted this moment preserved.

Thanks for looking!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

