ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life (week 4)

Leave a comment

full layout

For this week I thought I’d try out something a little different.  I had used a different page protector for the second half of the previous week giving me a 6×12 section on one side and the 6×4 spots on the other side.  This was a rough first half of the week because it was the 6th anniversary of my father’s death.  And this year the days lined up (calendar-wise) exactly as they did that year, so I spent a lot of time looking at the clock, thinking “at this time, I was doing this” … or “at this time I had to sign those papers”.  I decided the simplest way to document that was to just take a picture of the photos I keep on the display shelf above my computer/scrapbooking area.  See those reading glasses in the photo?  My father would buy the cheapo ones from the grocery store and stash them everywhere because he was always losing them.  I think the total count that we found going thru his stuff was in the high teens-early twenties.  I have them all.

Oh, that box top above the photo?  It’s my hair color 🙂  As you can see from the photos with my dad, I’m naturally a darkish blonde, but I color my hair red.  I thought it would be neat to put the color in there since I change the color so often.

I had one insert this week that had my youngest daughter’s report card on it.  I circled the top that showed where the previous grading period her reading was “at expected level” and this time “above expected level” was checked off.  She puts pressure on herself (as much as a 5 year old can know what “pressure” is) by comparing herself to her older sister, even though we never do and tell her she shouldn’t.  My oldest started kinder and turned 6 about three weeks later; our youngest turned 5 about a month before starting kinder.  It may not sound like much, but it makes a big difference.

I stamped “good job” with a Lawn Fawn font set and let my youngest color it in. On the second page are pictures of my girls at school and a Saturday tradition of my husband taking our girls and meeting my sister and nephew to do the Lowe’s Kid Builder workshops.  This was the first time I actually went so that I could get pictures.  Plus we had a part to go to for one of my oldest daughter’s school friends.  The big thing at the end of the week was that we drove about an hour and a half to see some friends of ours that had taken in a dog to foster (she works at the kennel her MIL owns).  We wanted to adopt Molly (the dog) and had to go meet her.  She was such a sweet dog and my husband was instantly in love with her.  I talk more about her and all this in the next week’s layout.  For whatever reason I did not take shots of the single sides.  I took these photos in my usual spot, but was frustrated with the glare and tried another spot, so in retaking the pictures, I forgot some.

Thanks for reading … be back soon!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

