ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

butterfly release

Leave a comment

One of my favorite things about first grade is the butterfly unit.  They have containers in the classroom with chrysalises in them and the kids watch them everyday thru out the life cycle.  Then, a day or two before spring break, they go outside and release them one at a time.  Each student gets a chance to release “their” butterfly.  I was there photographing it for their school scrapbooks (I really need to do a post about that) so I got to capture the fun.  Even though there are shadows on her face and parts of other kids in the photo, this is one of my absolute favorite pictures of Natalie.  She has such a big heart, especially where animals are concerned.  She was actually crying a bit before going outside, not wanting to say good-bye to her butterfly (“What if she gets lost or lonely or can’t find food?”), but when the butterflies started coming out and landing on the kids, she was nothing but smiles!

the perfect sentiment (Ali Edwards stamp; American Crafts embossing powder)

Natalie’s teacher, Mrs. Greene had let Sydney be a part of the class all year whenever I was up there helping out.  I will forever be grateful to her for that.  This day was no exception.  After all the 1st graders in her class released their butterflies, there were a few left, so she let Sydney hold one.  I cannot put into words how excited Sydney was and how much it meant to me.  Sydney is going into 1st grade in the fall – can you guess what teacher I requested?

 

All paper and stickers are Echo Park.  I am trying to use up the last of my older collections so I can justify purchasing some of the newer ones 🙂  The butterfly stamp above the title is from The Stamps of Life.

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

