ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Six Years Ago …

Leave a comment

we welcomed our youngest daughter into the world 🙂

Just as we did with our older daughter, Natalie we took her once a month to have her portraits done for the first year.  After that I realized I could start doing it myself and get better/more natural results.  Here is her one year old portrait:

taken at Picture People

I took her two year portrait at our house.  As anyone who has attempted to photograph a 2 year old knows, it was not easy.  I gave up on trying to do posed shots and just took her outside to play on the swingset:

2 year

By her third year she had gotten used to the camera pointed in her direction all the time and actually sat still for some cute portraits :

three

When we got to four, I felt like we took a step backwards.  She was excited to do pictures, but would cooperate AT ALL!  My husband liked this one:

but these were the two that I put in her thank you cards:

Those were the best out of the 3-4 times we tried to get cute shots for her yearly portrait.  Last year she turned five.  A couple of things changed: 1- I quit worrying about having 5-10 really good shots and just concentrated on getting one great one that showed her face at her current age and 2- she had matured a bit since the previous year and did a great job posing, but also being herself.  This is the one that we have framed in the house:

I think that is one of my all time favorite portraits of her.  She got her “boy haircut” and wears athletic style clothes a lot (a tomboy, just like her mother was), but she is still so beautiful!  For this year, we also took family pictures at the same time that I did her six-year portraits.  Whenever we do portraits, I try to keep it casual and do it around the house.  The girls (as well as most people) smile more and are more relaxed in a place that they are comfortable with.  She has started noticing more people looking at her, trying to figure out if she is a boy or girl, debating whether or not to tell her she is in the wrong (public) restroom (even though she isn’t) and it is having an affect on her self-esteem.  That makes me sad.  My husband and I have always let her dress the way she wants – we do that with both girls.  As a child, I remember hating when my mother picked my clothes.  Just because I looked good in pink didn’t mean I wanted to wear it.  So we let our girls express themselves with their clothes and accessories… sorry, I didn’t mean to get off on some tangent.  You can see in her eyes that she’s not quite as sure of her self as she used to be:

No matter what, I love my little Stinker.  Happy birthday, Sydney!  And, if you made it thru this photo heavy post, congratulations and thank you for looking!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

