ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Trick or Treat

Leave a comment

Costco is currently have a sale on 4×6 prints (with coupon) so I ordered a big pile so that I have all the photos I need to finish up our 2011 family album.  For the past few days, I’ve been working on this:

My layouts don’t usually have a lot of “decoration” or embellishment on them.  I tend to do layouts that focus on the photos, but with this one I thought I’d go all out.  After our girls chose their costumes last year, I knew I wanted to have some sort of pirate embellishment.  I finally found these stamps on 2Peas from a company called My Cute Stamps.  My youngest had a pirate themed birthday party a few years ago and I’m pretty sure if my husband ever has a party, it’ll be pirate themed 🙂  I stamped these out (putting the girl’s head on the male body so they’d be matching) and colored them with my Copics.   I did one girl for my oldest and one boy to represent my youngest and her short hair.  I stamped the sword/bird separately and then pop dotted them up for dimension.

I have a Halloween themed stamp set from Technique Tuesday (now retired I believe) that had this cute wording (Trick or Treat) and also the spooky eyes on it, so I stamped it on the same purple I used for the border on the left hand side and then added some shading with the Copics.

 I also used one of my stamp sets from The Stamps of Life to stamp the candy corn on the journaling card and also the spider web in the corner and spider hanging down. I stamped it with Close To My Heart’s White Daisy ink, then once that dried, did a very light coat of Star Dust Stickles over it.

I quite literally pulled out every Halloween related stamp set I own and tried to use at least one bit from them all!  I also had some Jolee’s jack o’lantern stickers from a long time ago that I thought would help ground the right side of the layout.  Looking at the layout, it really is way more than what I normally do on my average layout, but I figured that going over the top worked okay with the subject matter 🙂  I had a lot of fun making this layout and my girls seem to love it, too and that’s all that matters!

Thanks for looking!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

