ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

My Little Scrappers

Leave a comment

I’ve mentioned in other posts that for the summer I got both of our girls a 6×8 Simple Stories album and all the goodies to go in it. They love our Project Life album, so I suggested that they do a mini version for their summer vacation. I do school year albums with them and we have family albums. When they move out, they’ll take their school albums and mini albums, but I wanted them to have something about summer vacation from their perspective. For those of you not familiar with Project Life, I suggest checking out Becky Higgin’s blog and seeing what you think. There is no set way of “you have to do it this way” and it is not just for scrapbookers. And you don’t have to just use her products (although they are very nice). I liked the idea of using divided page protectors because putting photos into our album goes so much faster that way. Our yearly family albums were getting thicker and thicker and I felt like more than 2 a year was pushing it (for us). Last year (2011) I started a 365 type project taking a photo a day, but if I missed a day or two here and there, I didn’t get upset. I just used that space to put an extra photo from some other day. It was a place for me to put the little stories that I wanted to tell, but didnt’ feel like they needed an entire 12×12 layout in our family album. And yeah, technically now I still have more albums per year, BUT I am telling the stories better. They aren’t just good for looking back over fond memories either – I can’t tell you how many times I’ve needed to know what day we did something (for paperwork or to answer a question) and we’ve used our Project Life album to get the answer:)

Okay, back to the girls. Yesterday we spent several hours working on their albums. It was nice – there was minimal fighting among my girls and they got to focus a little creative energy. My oldest daughter pretty much works on her own, except when she gets stuck on layout ideas and things like that. My youngest has just been collecting stuff and we’ve made a few notes, so today was the first day we really got photos taped down and did some decorating (she loves washi tape more than I do!) They go back to school in a few weeks, so I told them that this week we could focus on getting caught up with this project and they were so excited. It’s days like this that make it worth putting up with the bad ones 🙂

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

