ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life (weeks 40-42)

Leave a comment

Finally got all the past weeks done that I was behind. Let’s get started, shall we?

left side close up

right side close up

This was the week I did my oldest daughter’s birthday portraits (which I should really post). No matter whose turn it is, the other sister gets pictures taken as well. We always do “sister pictures” and sometimes I get really good shots of the “other” sister that I’m glad I took.

I had some space for filler cards, so I used one of my newer Ali Edwards stamps. I used the “celebrate fall” stamp on both cards and just used different “sentiments”(?) for each card. I really like the way it turned out.

Recently there was an article getting linked on FB a lot about moms getting into pictures more with your kids. My husband has teased me off and on over the years saying our kids are going to grow up thinking that I was invisible because I’m hardly in any photos, so I’ve been trying. I’ve also been trying to include my husband and I together more for two reasons. One – I know it’s something the girls will appreciate in years to come (and I appreciate now) and 2- this album is supposed to be about ALL of us, not just our children, so we need to be in it more. Sooooo … I handed my girls the camera while Monkey (my husband’s nickname) and I went up to pick up our hockey tickets with some free vouchers we had gotten. Even though I am not particularly fond of looking at my rear view, I used the photo ๐Ÿ™‚

Speaking of the hockey game … we were SO cold that night and had only brought light jackets. My youngest (Sydney) never ceases to make me laugh. I showed her how to put her jacket on backwards and sit against the back of the seat to stay warmer. Then I look back over and she does this(follow the arrow):


*** week 41 ***

left side

right side

Every now and then I try to get all “artsy” (for lack of a better word) and take pictures of things without faces while leaving room to journal right on the photo … especially when capturing the story for the day would involve a large collage print.

After I finished the layout, I realized I forgot to do the journaling on my large (6×12)photo, so I ended up doing an insert. I made more in-depth notes about the parent/teacher conferences from Monday on one side and my husband typed up some journaling for me for the larger photo.

*** Week 42 ***

left side

right side

This week I had so many photos and combined with the style of page protectors I used, I didn’t have any room for journaling. I finally decided to just make it an insert … plus it gave me a chance to use those number stickers that come with the days of the week.

I had a couple of other inserts … the paperwork from my husband’s first night in the penalty box (he’s an off-ice official for the local hockey team) … my youngest daughter’s “positive office referral” from her teacher … my oldest daughter’s short story. She had to stay home early in the week due to an eye infection (not pink-eye, bacterial infection), so I showed her a phot on Pinterest as a writing prompt and had her write a short story. Whenever my girls have to stay home, we always do some sort of “mommy school” so their brains stay stimulated. It was really cool, because when I was up at school the next day, her teacher read the story out loud to her class. She got a lot of applause and a lot of “YOU wrote that yourself??” ๐Ÿ™‚ (proud mommy moment)

Okay, if you are still with me thru all that – THANK YOU!! I think I will do weeks 43-44 in a separate post. I’ll be linking up with The Mom Creative.

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

