ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life- 2012 final layout

Leave a comment

The final week did not really follow my usual 2-page spread for the week. Since I do my weeks from Sunday to Saturday, I would technically have a 2 day week and I didn’t want to have to do the math to make that work for the end of the album. Instead I decided to do a 2 page spread for the December 23 thru the 31 with a Design G (10×12) insert as well as a baseball card (8.5×11) page cut down.

week 52

I wanted to dress up the “week of” card a little bit (plus I felt like coloring) so I used a Lawn Fawn stamp set to stamp some branches and then an ornament to color in.

IMG_8740

I also had some day of the week journaling cards by Ali Edwards that I got in my Technique Tuesday order a month or so back. I used those and alternated ink color to hand write the journaling.

IMG_8741

I love the photo of our littlest dog that I took on Sunday of that week. My girls keep their wintery stuffed animals/snowmen on the floor in their room under their mini trees. Leo (our dog) decided to curl up on the floor and nestly in with the stuffed animals. He is so funny – he will snuggle up just about anywhere he can get to.

IMG_8743

I cut down an 8.5×11 page protector to put a few photos from Christmas Eve when we opened stockings at our house:

IMG_8745

… and on the back were a few photos from Christmas morning:

IMG_8746

Next up is the Design G page protector for Wed (front side) and then Thursday-Friday (back side). Jason’s brother was in town and on Wednesday he and his family came over for lunch and to hang out a little. Our poor little nephew had just gotten his first cold and he was miserable.

IMG_8748

IMG_8749

my cute nephew once he finally fell asleep

my cute nephew once he finally fell asleep

the back side of the insert

the back side of the insert

clockwise from the left: my youngest getting x-rays at the dentist, Monkey working at the hockey game and then the girls being bums on the couch

clockwise from the left: my youngest getting x-rays at the dentist, Monkey working at the hockey game and then the girls being bums on the couch

Finally, the last page of the layout:

IMG_8886

I feel like I should “dress up” that date card a little bit, but still haven’t figured out what to add to it. Monkey took the girls to see “The Hobbit”. He even started reading it a little at a time to our youngest a couple weeks ago so she’d have some idea of what was going on.

New Year’s Eve we do a family slumber party every year and have done that since Natalie was a toddler. We made soup for dinner and watched “Brave” and then started a second movie. It totally sucked and after 10 minutes, we just stopped it. We ended up letting the girls watch “The Lorax” for about the 20th time while we watched “Total Recall” in our room until about midnight. Most years we watch movies together all night, but sometimes it just doesn’t work out.

IMG_8889

I haven’t actually finished the back page of the album. I have the filler cards that come with the Core kits, but I want to put two photos there. A few years ago I started taking photos on the first day of the year and then again on the last day of the year/first day of the new year and putting them together for a comparison. Previously I had taken individual portraits of the four of us, but on January 1 of 2012 I just took a group photo on the couch. I haven’t had a chance to take my comparison/one year later photo since we’ve all been sick. Once I get that taken, then the album will officially be complete.

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

