ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life – 2013 Edition

3 Comments

I finally took a break from my daughter’s school album to do a little catching up with this year’s PL. I didn’t want to get so far behind that I didn’t remember anything 🙂 Here is week 1:

week 1 (2013)

left side

left side

right side

right side

I am using the Seafoam Edition this year. I really like how simple/neutral it is. Don’t get me wrong, the Cobalt Edition (that I used for my 2012 album) was pretty – I love bold colors – but there were a lot of times I was going thru the journaling cards trying to find one and felt like none of them worked, or they would only work for certain things. With Seafoam, the journaling cards are pretty “generic” for lack of a better word and I’m having a much easier time picking a card. Here is the weekly card:

IMG_9033

I’ve decided this year that for each week, when I stamp the day of the week on a journaling card, I’m going to do it the same color and the week/title card. I thought this would help give continuity thru the whole album. Here’s an example(“Wednesday”):

IMG_9034

As you may also be able to see, I am using the Studio Calico PL subscription kit as well. I have not gotten a kit in the mail for at least five years or more (not including stamp of the month mailings). I had forgotten how fun it can be to challenge myself creatively to use things that I wouldn’t normally use. I love that I had the cloud filler card because otherwise I never would’ve thought to stamp a bird in a tree on it to go with the photo for that day(my girls birdwatching with my mother on a cold/overcast day).

The second half of the week there was a lot of sick/in bed all day kind of days, so I had to get creative with my pockets. I did remember to take a picture of our bathroom counter with all the different allergy/cold/antihistamine bottles from the week/previous few weeks. I used a WRMK card from their decks I found at Target and used the SC stamp on a few of the “ribbons”.

IMG_9036

close up of part of the Studio Calico stamp set

close up of part of the Studio Calico stamp set

And finally, I want to clarify one of these pockets:

IMG_9037

I was looking for a filler card for the bottom 4×3 spot and found this “Hello” card in my Simple Stories pile. My husband’s nickname is Monkey … so I thought “sick Monkey” (he had a really bad case of strep) was perfect for that 🙂 In no way am I saying my husband is a “sicko”. Just thought I’d clarify that for his sake!

Thanks for reading and I will get week 2 posted soon, but for now I should really go pick up my girls from school!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

3 thoughts on “Project Life – 2013 Edition

  1. I love your layout! I was just wondering what brand is the day of the week stamp you are using? I love the look of the cursive with the Seafoam kit.

    • The days of the week are an Ali Edwards/Technique Tuesday stamp. It’s got the days in that scripty font and also in block/capital letters. I got mine at Archiver’s. It looks like it’s sold out at Two Peas right now. I love it!

  2. Your handwriting is just beautiful! Love your layouts. Hope your husband is feeling better, Strep is AWFUL.

What's on your mind?

