ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life – Weeks 5 and 6

1 Comment

In the effort to try and get a little more caught up and current, I thought I’d post 2 weeks together this time.

week 5, full spread

week 5, full spread

 

IMG_0462

IMG_0463As you can tell, I ended up using mostly a soft aqua, gray and red for the layout this week.  To tie it all together, I added some red dot and gray dot washi tape to the week card and used the same colors for the “week five” lettering.

IMG_0464The week started with Monkey’s one year anniversary of him getting into shape.  He started with the “Fatty Challenge” at his office.  He has lost 40+ pounds and now is a runner.  I am so very proud of him and all that he has done!  And let me just say that I got his permission to post this photo up here.  He says he still has a lot of work to do, but really, he has come so far!

IMG_0466This week at his office they all pooled their money together for a big order from Franklin’s BBQ.  It’s been mentioned on Food Network shows and it often sells out in less than an hour, so it’s a big deal.  I asked Monkey to get a picture so we could document it.  This is all part of my effort to include more of Monkey’s day to day stuff, as well as getting the girls to journal about things in their own handwriting.

IMG_0465This week my husband also had a day at school as a Watch DOG.  If you aren’t familiar with that, it’s a program that gets dads to volunteer in the schools.  They are like rock stars – the kids love it when a Watch DOG comes up.  Even though I didn’t have to be up there that day, I ran up during both our girls’ lunch times to get a photo of them with their dad.  I love these photos and I know these are important to the girls as well.

IMG_0467Lastly, this was the week that we finally split the girls up into their own rooms.  Since Sydney was literally a toddler, the girls have shared one room and the other room was their playroom (later craft room/library).  They have been fighting almost constantly lately.  Yep, that’s right, I said it.  I always see these layouts or read blogs of women talking about how wonderful their kids are and they say all these wonderful things and I wonder what the hell I’m doing wrong.  Don’t misunderstand me – I love my girls and they are great, but they also drive me crazy(er) a lot of the time, too 🙂  So, we’ve “threatened” for a few months to split them up and finally this week just told them it was going to happen.  Natalie is getting to that pre-teen stage where she wants more privacy and Sydney needs her alone/downtime, so …

IMG_0468

IMG_0469

I almost forgot … we’ve been putting Natalie’s weekly multiplication tests (copies) in the album as inserts.  The first time we wrote up a little note and since then I’ve been wanting to add *something* to it in the form of journaling without repeating myself.  I finally remembered these stickers from the Simple Stories Snap series.  The pack has several sheets in different colors.  I love the simple style of journaling.

IMG_0459

 

 

AND now, on to:

IMG_0471

Here’s the full spread

IMG_0470

Up close

left side

left side

 

right side

right side

This week was more earthy wood tones.  I have 6×12 pieces from Simple Stories that I’ve been wanting to use and I thought it went well with the week card color.  This week Sydney took a photo for me of something she built while working quietly in her room.  If she grows up to be an amazing architect, I will not be surprised at all.  She loves to build with anything she can get her hands on.  This is actually the building that is on the cover of the box that these blocks came in.

IMG_0475

This was the week of February break for the girls (teachers have a conference).  This is also the week we usually work on the girls’ school Valentine’s cards.  I make them and have the girls help – I’m really big on making things instead of buying them if we can.  This year Natalie did them on her own with just a little direction from me.  Sydney found some in a book order that were cartoon kid versions of the Star Wars characters and I thought they were so her right now, so I said okay.

IMG_0477The last picture I had to share simply for the cuteness factor.  My sister’s dog had puppies and she is trying to find them homes.  She thinks she is being sly and says she just wanted the girls to be able to see them, but what she is really hoping for is that we will agree to take one.  They really are so cute and soft and cuddly, but there is just no way!  Like I said in my journaling – it’s like with babies … they are great to hold and remember how yours were at that stage, but there is no way I want to start over again 🙂

IMG_0478

I will be linking up to The Mom Creative this week.  Slowly, but surely I am catching up on sharing my weeks.  Maybe I’ll get a couple more posted later in the week.  Thanks for reading and I can’t wait to see what everyone else has done!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

One thought on “Project Life – Weeks 5 and 6

  1. Beautiful layouts. Your handwriting is gorgeous! I love how you get everyone involved in your layouts. I’m slowly getting my husband in on it.

What's on your mind?

