ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life-Week Nine

1 Comment

Welcome to another week, here we go with

IMG_1952

This week ended up with a lot of the honey/yellow color from the Seafoam kit with some bits of turquoise mixed it.

IMG_1948

left side close up

left side close up

right side, close up

right side, close

From time to time, the girls will get/earn tickets to various events from school.  They did a health/fitness-type thing and earned tickets to a basketball game (and the t-shirts they got at the game).  We are a hockey loving family … basketball, not so much.  A good friend of ours, on the other hand, happens to eat/breathe/sleep basketball and offered to take the girls to the game.  He is a great guy (single) and great with kids, so the girls had a Sunday basketball date with Uncle Greg.  On a side note, he hates having his picture taken and the ONLY time I can get a decent shot of him?  With the kids 🙂

(please excuse the white balance in the left photo - I forgot to fix it before handing my husband the camera)

(please excuse the white balance in the left photo – I forgot to fix it before handing my husband the camera)

 

Tuesday was one of those days that everyone has – nothing really all that interesting to document.  I sat and thought a few minutes while the girls unpacked their school things and decided documenting what their homework looks like at this age and the differences in the level of detail would be something interesting to look back on.  I do have to say that I have been having problems with Costco printing some photos *extremely* dark and others just fine.  The homework photo was way darker than it should be.

1st grade-monthly; 3rd grade-daily

1st grade-monthly; 3rd grade-daily

The girls had an early release day.  I can honestly say that on just about any early release day I would be able to take the same photo.  The girls head straight for the backyard.  That day they were doing slide stunts.

love the clipboard journal cards from Doodlebug

love the clipboard journal cards from Doodlebug

Friday that week, I was up at school to scrapbook with a class, so I got to peak in to an assembly.  The library had an author (Keith Graves).  He illustrates his books, as well as writes them.  He read to the students and then did a drawing game with them.  He had them pick 2-3 animals and then drew what those animals would look like as one animal.  The students brought paper with them and got to play along.  I got copies of my daughters’ drawings and added them as inserts (see below).  Here was one he drew:

IMG_1956

This was Monkey’s(aka, my husband) contribution for the week.  He went to a concert Saturday night and then did some journaling for me.  I guess I’ll keep him 🙂

IMG_1957

As I said above, I did inserts with the girls versions of Keith Graves-style art.  I also included Natalie’s multiplication test for the week because it was her 12’s, which is as high as they go.  I gave both girls free reign over my label stickers and then them explain their pages.

Sydney, age 6

Sydney, age 6

 

Natalie, age 9

Natalie, age 9

That about wraps up week nine.  I’m going to link up with The Mom Creative to share my layout for the week.  If you like what you see, you should check it out and see what some other people have done.  I can’t wait to see everyone else’s weeks.  Thanks for looking!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

One thought on “Project Life-Week Nine

  1. I love your title card! Thanks for sharing 🙂

What's on your mind?

