ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life- Week Thirteen

3 Comments

And I’m back! This was the week I picked up some of the (then)new Simple Stories lines. I love how the overall week is so colorful.

IMG_2638

left side

left side

right side

right side

 

This week I seemed to have a lot of diagonal stripes. It just happened to work out that the Seafoam date card was a diagonal stripe. I wanted to get more color on it to match the rest of the spread, so I added some of that beautiful washi tape from the SC kit.

IMG_2642

I used a rainbow diagonal paper to journal on twice on the left side and once on the right side:

(forgot to photograph the 2nd place individually)

(forgot to photograph the 2nd place individually)

IMG_2645

I had also picked up a sheet of MME paper that had the cut apart journaling cards, which included days of the week strips. The colors went really well with the other paper I was using:

IMG_2644

This was the week we took a weekend trip to Galveston. We hadn’t been in years (Sydney was literally a toddler last time we went and is about to turn 7 now). I spent all week trying to pack without them catching on, because it was a surprise. We left Thursday night (no school Friday) and drove down. I got this quick shot of us in the car before the sun went down.

IMG_2646

Sometimes when I get my Studio Calico PL kit, I see cards and think “What the hell am I going to do with THIS card?” and then it comes to me a few days later. This sunshine card was one. We get a lot of sun and heat in central TX, but I wanted it to be more than just “wow, it was hot today”. I was really happy with how it turned out, it was one of those times when what’s in your head and how it actually turned out were the same!

IMG_2648

I did not put a lot of photos in the spread because I plan on doing a mini album of the weekend (and doing it quickly with Becky Higgin’s mini albums so I can just slide in the photos/journaling cards). It was difficult to find just a couple of photos that I thought would really represent the days we were there. Friday we drove back into Houston to visit the zoo. Saturday we spent pretty much the entire day on the beach. I absolutely LOVE that shot where I caught my youngest mid-air jumping the waves like I used to do as a kid.

IMG_2649

I did have one insert, though. We haven’t been on a trip in a long time so I was a little worried I would forget something. I included my packing list in the layout. On the backside, I made an 8×10 collage of a few of my favorite photos from the trip. I just now realized I never went back and photographed the back of the insert once I got the collage.

meal planning on top, what to pack on bottom

meal planning on top, what to pack on bottom

I can't seem to find the collage anywhere and it's too dark to photograph it right now

I can’t seem to find the collage anywhere and it’s too dark to photograph it right now

So, that is our last week of March. I will be linking up with The Mom Creative for Project Life Tuesday. It’s been a while, but I’m happy to be able to join back in!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

3 thoughts on “Project Life- Week Thirteen

  1. Beautiful. That sunshine card is just perfect for Galveston Beach. Love how you included your itinerary and packing list.

  2. I love how the diagonal stripes tie it all together! I also love how you used the seafoam title card – great layouts!

  3. Great pages! I love all the diagonal stripes, and you have really beautiful handwriting!

What's on your mind?

