ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life – Week Fifteen

1 Comment

Before I start to share the pictures, let me preface by letting you know that my camera is dying. The lens won’t close itself, I have to manually twist it. My husband did get me a new(er) phone at the start of the summer, so I’m learning how to use the camera on it. These photos are taken with my phone.

20130701_203342

week 15, left side

week 15, left side

week 15, right side

week 15, right side

I had a lot of gray pop up in the photos and a few pops of red, so I grabbed washi tape in those colors to spice up my week card. After putting it together, I realized that the gray washi (Doodlebug) didn’t show up all that well, but I left it because I still gave the “15” stickers something to rest on.

20130701_203415

Sunday started bright and early for us – Monkey ran the Cap 10K downtown. Family friends of ours were there as well (including our daughters’ friends Kira and Noel). I felt horrible because the photo below and a couple of group shots at the end are all that I got of my husband. I suck at reading maps and by the time we got to the area to watch him go across the finish line, he had already finished. We didn’t know that for another 5-10 minutes when he texted me that he was looking for me. Great. But, he did great and was happy with his time, so …

20130701_203424

For a week or two, the girls and I have been watching a nest on our back porch. There was an old lantern style tea light candle holder that I hung up and some small bird started nesting in it. I haven’t seen eggs in there in years, but there were 5-6 this year. On Tuesday I heard some little peeping and checked it out. There were 3-4 little heads moving around. It was hard to photograph because of the lack of light down in there, but I did the best I could. The yellow streaks look like where their eyes should be, but the slits for their eyes were right above the yellow.

20130701_203437

I’ve had a few photos from the past weeks of my girls with a little Shitzu dog. Our neighbor/friend/teacher had two dogs that are her kids. Our girls get to pet sit one week each summer while Teresa is doing a side job down town working long hours. We also let them out from time to time when she has to work late – point being, the girls are very attached to Gracie and Bogey. Teresa found out that Bogey had skin cancer and didn’t have long to live. As you can imagine, it was hard to tell them and even harder to watch them with their little broken hearts. This was the week that Bogey was put to sleep. The following day, we had to go let Gracie out after school. Sydney kept trying to get Gracie to play fetch with her like Bogey did (he was the outgoing one), but she wasn’t interested. Natalie just sat and watched Gracie, sadly. Both girls cried when I finally told them we had to go home. It was a hard day.

(sorry for the blurry shot)

(sorry for the blurry shot)

I did an insert this week about Bogey for the girls (okay, myself, too). The front side were photos from last summer when the girls pet sat.

20130701_203546

The back of the insert had a couple photos of when we went to see him when we first found out he was sick. The girls wanted to see him and I wanted them to know they could still pet him and play a little bit. Teresa even pulled out their puppy scrapbooks(like baby books) to show the girls and eventually for her to take to school. She teaches first grade and pretty much the entire grade level knew about Bogey and asked for daily updates. They were all so sweet and caring.

20130701_203556

I hate leaving this on a sad note, but that was how the week ended. I’m running a little behind, but I’m going to link up with The Mom Creative.  I am going to try to get the rest of my layouts photographed.  I’m actually still about 4-6weeks behind because I’ve been working on our family album for 2012 AND keeping up with the kids. I’ve been making myself just stop and relax a little bit each day. A lot of hanging out in the shade (before it hits the triple digits), a lot of reading and some scrapbooking (but usually only late at night after the girls are in bed).

Thanks for stopping by!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

One thought on “Project Life – Week Fifteen

  1. Wonderful layouts. The picture of the car cracked me up. It totally looks like it’s giving you a dirty look! Not sure I’ll be able to look at them the same way again!
    Love the tribute insert to the pup. So sweet. I don’t know what we’ll do when we have to deal with the loss of a furry loved one.

What's on your mind?

