ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Project Life – Finishing Up February

1 Comment

Okay, so much catching up to do, so here we go, starting back at…

IMG_1903

IMG_1899

left side, week 7

left side, week 7

right side

right side

 

I don’t usually include weather snapshots, but because of all the craziness I decided to add it in for this week. I snapped a photo of the tv screen because I have no clue how to do a screen print on my phone 🙂

IMG_1905

I got some “currents” cards a while back and never seem to have space to use them. I wanted to include this selfie of my “work in progress” where it comes to getting better at makeup, but didn’t necessarily want a full size photo of my face, so now I have a spot for the currents card.

IMG_1907My youngest got her new glasses this week as well. She hadn’t been wearing her older glasses at school as much as she was supposed to (and it’s really hard to keep on her when I’m half a mile away), so her vision got worse and now she needs to wear them ALL the time. For her first pair, I tried to steer her towards neutral colored glasses so they’d look okay no matter what she wore. This time I realized that she needs to really like them in order to actually wear them, so we let her get the ones she really wanted. And they look awesome on her – they fit her personality so well!

IMG_1908This was the week of Valentine’s Day. I got photos of the girls at school during their parties:

IMG_1912

… and then had Natalie take a picture of Monkey and I at dinner that night. We went out as a family mostly to celebrate that he got the job he’s been waiting on for several months.

IMG_1913

Going out to dinner was also our way of having a little bit of something positive before we sat down to tell the girls the next day that the Monday coming up would be the day we were having Little put to sleep (I hate that phrase, but don’t know any less tacky way of saying it). We wanted to give Little some pampering/treats for her last couple of days to remind her how much we love her. She loves popcorn and when Monkey makes some as our late night snack, he always gives her a few pieces. Well, on Saturday, he made her a bowl of her own and then put her up on our bed to be more comfortable as she ate it. It was a very sweet gesture from him.

IMG_1914

 

That was the way we wrapped up week seven; now onto

(my first time using the Cameo pens)

(my first time using the Cameo pens)

This week started out very emotionally draining and the rest of the week we had so much going on. I kind of felt like I was just going thru the motions and I wanted to convey that with color (or lack thereof).

IMG_1916

IMG_1918

IMG_1920Monday while the girls were at school, we had the vet come to the house and end Little’s suffering. Monkey and I took her out to his parents’ land and buried her right next to Chewie (our Rottie that passed away a few years ago). Then we picked the girls up from school and took them out to see where Little was buried. What made it even more difficult is that my youngest thought that Little would still be there when she got home and that it would happen later that day, so she was even more upset that she couldn’t see her to say good-bye. She kept trying to pick up the rocks (on the burial site) and wipe the dirt away because she thought then she could see Little. Like I said – emotionally draining day.

the 4x6 pocket is actually a flap with another photo/more journaling underneath

the 4×6 pocket is actually a flap with another photo/more journaling underneath

 

IMG_1925

 

Moving on to

IMG_2383

 

I felt the need to use lots of bright colors this week after the monotone feel of week eight.

IMG_2378

 

IMG_2380

IMG_2381Monkey and the girls took advantage of another random beautiful day that Sunday and went for a long bike ride. I’m so glad that my girls are learning now to have healthy habits and that they look forward to/constantly ask to go for long bike rides and want to do obstacle course races like their daddy.

(I put stickers on a little too low, but they were NOT coming off to redo the placement ... oh well)

(I put stickers on a little too low, but they were NOT coming off to redo the placement … oh well)

I have a love for all things colorful, including sequins. The problem is that sometimes I have a hard time finding a good place for them in my layouts without it looking overdone or tacky. I felt like the journaling card/stamp needed a little something more, so sequins it is!

IMG_2385

I recently got Shimelle’s  Nailed It stamp set (LOVE that someone finally made a phrase stamp set that wasn’t all rainbows and unicorns and “best day ever!”) and got to use it a couple times on this week’s layout. Case in point:

(I scrapbook with a few classes at school on a monthly basis)

(I scrapbook with a few classes at school on a monthly basis)

and also here:

("brownies" came out more like heavily buttered pancakes - gross)

(“brownies” came out more like heavily buttered pancakes – gross)

Now that Monkey knows he got the new job (which he actually starts next week) , he made himself a list of tasks to get done/finish up at his current job before leaving. He’s very excited about his new job, but I’m glad that he is being responsible and not just leaving his current one hanging because he’s got “short timer’s syndrome”.

IMG_2387Sydney has taken to writing down notes when she is not comfortable saying the words out loud or when she needs to work out her feelings. I left her a little note on her desk and so she wrote me a note back and left it on my desk. Love it! (Sometimes when I give my girls a compliment, I’ll say that “I’m not just saying that because I’m your mother”)

IMG_2388

I documented what might seem like a random thing to someone else because I wanted to show Syd how proud we were of her. She is at that stage where she feels we should leave every store with her having *something* new, even if there’s nothing she *needs*. The fact that she was willing to wait for the pair she really wanted impressed both my husband and me quite a bit!

IMG_2391Okay, that wraps up February’s layouts and this blog post. I have a few more weeks to share, but I will make that a separate post. I’ve had a lot of these weeks just waiting to share. I have this mental block that I have to have my Project Life posts ready to share on Tuesday and if I don’t, then I might as well just wait until the following week (due to sharing on The Mom Creative for so long). Now that she’s gone to a monthly blog link up instead of a weekly one, I’m still adjusting 🙂 I also have been working on some “regular” layouts for our family album and will share those soon as well.

I will be linking up with The Mom Creative for her Project Life post. If you made it this far – thanks for staying with me!

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

One thought on “Project Life – Finishing Up February

  1. Wow! Looks like you have been very busy capturing and recording your family moments! I love that you added a lot of journaling. I enjoyed looking at all of your photos. 🙂

    Mary from NH

What's on your mind?

