ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

Blues on the Green (2013 family album layout)

Leave a comment

So one of my goals for this year was to include more than just my Project Life spreads on this blog, so I guess it’s time I actually do that!

IMG_2321I got the idea for this layout after looking at that Amy Tan cityscape patterned paper. I’d used it before on another layout, but had a 2nd one because I loved it so much.  I only had two decent-enough-to-use photos for this layout, so I wanted to make the layout itself spectacular. I started with the black paper at the top and heat embossed several different star stamps in gold, silver and opaque white.

IMG_2323

I also added some gold star sequins from Studio Calico for some variety and interest. Beneath that I added two layers of torn dark blue paper (night sky fading into the black) and then sat and cut along one of the cityscape lines (while watching a show) for the next layer and then finished the bottom with green (along with a few torn edges of green).

IMG_2324I wanted to add more detail and stumbled upon these cute lawn chairs on the Silhouette website. And a cute picnic basket for the bottom next to the journaling … (with some Lawn Fawn apple stamps)

IMG_2326I had so much fun doing this layout – I was actually giddy about it. Best of all? When I showed my husband, his response was “Wow!” Again, here is the full layout:

IMG_2321Short and simple 🙂

 

 

 

 

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

