ktware

sharing my creativity, one project at a time

I’m Still Here, I Swear!

Leave a comment

I just realized that I haven’t posted since the end of May – eeek! What is especially funny/ironic is that “posting to my blog regularly” was on my summer bucket list. Guess I won’t be checking that item off, huh?

In an attempt to catch up, I’m going to do a quick overview of some of my layouts. I am still about 5-6 weeks behind in doing them, but I haven’t posted any since week sixteen, so here goes:

IMG_4009

I had a lot of fun doing the 4×12 pocket across the top of the left side of the layout. I used my Cameo for the grass and some older stamps for the eggs. The sun clip was from the dollar bins at Joann’s and it is also there to help that bit stay in the pocket. The grass is pop dotted and just doesn’t want to stay in the pocket. On the right side is a photograph from a small wedding I shot for a teacher at my girls’ school. She and her husband chose this tiny deck out in the middle of some hiking path because they had seen silhouette wedding photos online from this exact place. They both told me that they really wanted the same photo taken of them and were very happy when they saw that photo.

IMG_4001

left side/week17

left side/week 17

right side/week17

right side/week 17

 

Week 18:

IMG_6985

This layout felt a little disjointed from one side to the other. I was hoping the green on either side would join them together better, but I think those orangey-red cards may have been a little too strong of a color to compete with.

IMG_6982

IMG_6984

Week 19:

IMG_6986

For some reason, I forgot to photograph each side separately for week nineteen. My husband, my best friend and another one of our friends did a Tough Mudder race that Sunday. It’s like that journaling card was meant for that photo.

IMG_6990

I also added an insert this week. I got my very own credit card in my name – this is a big deal since I haven’t been able to work in 10+ years and we are working on our credit scores. I also realized that my nail polish obsession (that started when I was around nine) has never really been documented. I saved little insert cards from my Julep subscription box and my first month getting the Square Hue subscription box.

IMG_6991

Week 20:

IMG_6993

For this layout, I wanted to not use any core kits or pre-made cards – I wanted to do them myself using some 12×12 papers. I normally would feel bad cutting up a full sheet of paper, but since half the layout was 6×6 squares, it didn’t bother me so much 🙂 See that last 3×4 section on the far right? It’s a flip open spot and opens to this:

WOO HOO!

WOO HOO!

Yeah, baby! I was really excited when I won, but wasn’t sure if I’d get something that I would actually use, so when I opened it up to all the brightly colored Simple Stories DIY stuff, I was ecstatic!

In the interest of not overwhelming anyone with tons of pictures, I’m going to finish up this post here and save the other four or five weeks for a separate post. If you made it this far – thank you! I have a question for you, do you get *more* done over the summer months or do you find yourself several weeks behind before you even notice?

I’ll be linking up with The Mom Creative. I missed it last month, so I made sure to make a little note in my calendar so as not to forget this one!

 

Author: ktware

I'm a mom to 2 girls and 2 dogs. My husband and I have been together for over 17 years (married for 12 of them). I hate saying that I'm a "stay at home" mom, because I'm really not. I spend most of my time at my daughters' elementary school - volunteering, tutoring and (my favorite) scrapbooking with several different classes. I like photography, scrapbooking and general crafty stuff.

What's on your mind?

